RAINY DAY READS

It’s my favourite time of the year again! the rains are back, and in my opinion there is nothing better than getting cozy with a good book, a hot beverage and a blanket by the window while it pours outside. So these are my top ten rainy day reads which I think will give you the best stay at home experience.

DISCLAIMER- I’ve tried to keep the books light because nobody wants to cry when its already a gloomy day, also I plan on doing another list of books that make me cry. These are mostly young adult fiction-

1.ELEANOR AND PARK- by Rainbow Rowell

15745753

God,this book is SO GREAT! It just kinda sucks you in. I read it in one sitting. It’s romantic and heartwarming and funny but also realistic and sad in places. The characters are fantastic.

Brief summary- two people you wouldn’t expect to get along, fall in love.

Quote-

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

 

2.THE SELECTION SERIES- By Kiera Cass

The selection

OK, this is my guilty pleasure read.It’s fun, it’s light and it has a combination of my literary weaknesses- attractive male protagonist, fairy-tale theme going on, romance between someone royal and someone ordinary. It has a love triangle which I usually hate but in this case resolves itself quite nicely, and I LOVE all the side characters.

Brief summary- 35 girls compete for a prince. ( It’s better than it sounds, I swear)

Quote-

“ Just that. Your family must be very different from mine.”
” I’d say so.” – I laughed. – “For one, no one wears their tiaras to breakfast.”
Maxon smiled. – “More of a dinner thing at the Singer house?”
“Of course.”

  1. IF I STAY-by Gayle Forman

download (21)

This was really interesting, could’ve been morbid but was actually quite funny, I loved the writing and family theme. The romance is not the main focus but it’s still super cute.

Brief summary- You’re better off not knowing

quote-

“I just wanted to tell you that I understand if you go. It’s okay if you have to leave us. It’s okay if you want to stop fighting.”

4. FANGIRL-By rainbow Rowell

ldownload

I guess it’s pretty obvious I have a Rainbow Rowell obsession. She’s amazing, I love her. This book was funny and relatable (as you can tell from the title) and really really really sweet.

Brief summary- Cath is shy and doesn’t know what to expect from college(me) fanfiction helps her deal with life(also me)

Quote-

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”

and one more because I couldn’t chose-

“Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and mildly socially retarded, I’m a complete disaster.”

5.MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN-By Ransom Riggs

51Np0hUI+dL._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_

This book is so cool. It has pictures. It has WW2 stuff. It has romance. It has a small European island.It has storms. It has mystery and suspense. It has an old man with secrets. This is my kinda book.The cover looks creepy and you wouldn’t expect it to be cute, but it is.

Brief summary- Jacob investigates his grandfather’s mysterious past.

Quote-

“Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.”

6.HOPELESS- by Colleen Hoover

download (22)

I love Colleen Hoover.This book starts out light like an innocent love story but it’ll take you by surprise. Covers a lot of mature themes. Still funny when it should be. It doesn’t hurt that Dean Holder is delicious.

Brief summary- Sky thinks she knows who she is. she is wrong.

Quote-

“Sometimes you have to choose between a bunch of wrong choices and no right ones. You just have to choose which wrong choices feels the least wrong.”

7.A COUNTESS BELOW STAIRS-by Eva Ibbotson

51FYLLvggEL._AC_UL320_SR200,320_

I don’t love EVERYTHING Eva Ibbotson writes, but this was really nice. There’s nothing I love more than a forbidden romance,and when it has historical background and involves an undercover princess, i’m sold. Also the side plot is brilliant.

Brief summary- Anna Grazinski is a Russian countess who has to flee Russia after WW1 and go undercover as a maid

quote-

“And so they played some of the world’s loveliest piano music – the exiled homesick girl, the humiliated, tired old man. Not properly. Better than that.”

  1. GEEK GIRL-By Holly Smale

download (20)

This book is literally SO MUCH FUN to read. it never gets boring and the main character is a perfect combination of lovable and insufferable. It’s brilliant. Everyone would love it.

Brief summary- She’s a total geek, who has to become model.She is forced to broaden her horizons.

Quote- this is actually one of my fav quotes of all time

“Nobody hopped into a wardrobe to find Narnia; they hopped in, thinking it was just a wardrobe. They didn’t climb up the Faraway Tree, knowing it was a Faraway Tree; they thought it was just a really big tree. Harry Potter thought he was a normal boy; Mary Poppins was supposed to be a regular nanny. It’s the first and only rule. Magic comes when you’re not looking for it.”

  1. THE LAST SONG-By Nicholas Sparks

The_Last_Song_Soundtrack

I know, I said I’ll keep this list light, but everyone knows you can’t read Nicholas sparks and not cry a little. I had to put either this or the Notebook in because I had a whole Nicholas Sparks phase and these books will always have a special place in my heart( I feel you judging me), even if the movies are better, even if they predictable af. I love it,esp because of the whole father daughter theme.

Summary- Ronnie has to live with her dad, it doesn’t go as planned

Quote-

“Mom says it’s because she has PMS.
Do you even know what that means?
“I’m not a little kid anymore. It means pissed-at- men syndrome”

  1. HARRY POTTER AND THE PHILOSOPHER’S STONE-J.K. Rowling

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

Bet you thought this post would end without a mention of Harry potter. HAHAHA. AS IF.

I don’t need to summarize this, please just go make some tea and sit by the window and relive your childhood.

PS- Sorry if you thought this list was too fluffy and lovey-dovey, thats just what I like reading.

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Great list! The ones I’ve read from it, I 100% agree with you. There’s still a couple on there that I have been meaning to read! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! Let me know when you read the rest 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am presently reading “The Birth of Venus” by Sarah Dunant. Thank you for your recent follow of my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list. I love The Last song

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

